What I Learned from Bicohemistry

Standard

I don’t think I will forget that fateful day I took my fourth shifting exam in Biochemistry. It left that kind of impression on me, this subject. Let me give you a brief background of how I fair in Any Science subject. 

I can’t say I’m dumb, simply because I don’t believe anyone is. I do well in all most subjects, except Filipino. I try to do my best during Science class. Back in Gradeschool, I’d compete in division or regional levels in these fields. Come. High School, I pretty much left my interest in Science behind, and focused on enjoyed Maths. I really did. It may have been cryptic for some, but it was my private language. 

Earth Science, Biology, Chemistry, and even Physics weren’t my thing, as I learned later on. Sure I’d stay long during elimination rounds, but I get eliminated anyway. (I know, right?! Who else had to go through that? You deserve a pat on the back, my friend.) In college, I had to endure DPSM subjects 5x. I passed them all, getting exempted at times. I’d have to say. Org Chem and Biochem were the worst. Although it seemed as if I was fairing well in Biochemistry, doing better than half the class did, I still didn’t get exempted from taking the Final. This is a sad story. 

Did I mention I am a Medical student at present? Don’t even start. I did have a hard time, barely passing some of my quizzes. I even failed an entire shift. Seniors, including my elder sister, said this is common. To me, this was unacceptable. But the thing is, I could not get myself to study harder in this subject. The topics were getting more abstrac, and the exam questions got even more complicated. And so, on the fourth (of five) shift, I was in for a ride. My grad was at the minimum, and this quiz was given on the same day as our third quiz of that shift.    

    This was how I pictured myself as I walked back to my chair after submitting my first Biochem quiz for that day. I was mouthing the exact same words, and the people who saw me were mouthing,  “I know, right?” and gesturing how difficult and crazy that quiz was. The only consolation I had for myself was that I wasn ‘t the only one who found the exam difficult.  But there was no denying the frustration I felt that time. Here was an opportunity I had for me to raise my grades, and I just let it slide. It’s not like I intended not to study, I just didn ‘t give it my all. The sad thing was that I knew it. Even sadder was that it was only the first of three Biochem quizzes. By the time I took my other quizzes hope was draining fast.  

In taking up that course, I figured that I should be more patient in reading, that nothing is ever easy, and that thinking that something is difficult will only make things more difficult. Assuming that concepts are understood when we really don’t is the first step in fooling ourselves. Because there are several lecturers, it is best to learn their examination styles. Some teachers demand the most specific words, others stick to what appears in bold letters. Some bother to give handouts yet ask questions that you only cone across during his / her lectures. No matter how annoying this sounds, we can ‘t blame them because it is our responsibility to pay full attention to them regardless of how much of sleeping pill they are. There would even come a point when I ‘d ask myself whether or not the lecturer was that knowledgeable or plainly showing off. Those times I can ‘t help but whisper, “Undivided attention. Undivided attention.” Times are trying when you look around and see that half of the class is asleep. Every point counts. 

Thankfully, I passed this annoyingly study time-consuming subject. I hope and pray I don ‘t go through all that hullaballoo again. The better me knows how hard I will work on my second year subjects. 

On to second year…  🙂

Leave a Reply

