Because Mentoring Just Got a New Meaning

Standard

I’m not sure pero feeling ko galit na galit ako sa mga professors ko sa UP. Maliit lang ang college namin so you really get to see the awful lot in so many instances. I had this one clinical instructor  who would text the rest of the faculty if and when one of the students commit an act of Katangahan. I think I just lost my respect for them. They were supposed to be advocates of privacy and confidentiality, but this is just a classic case of not practicing what you are preaching. I know that these people are intelligent and what, but I also know that some of them have low EQ. There is no holding back to this rant, so if you do know me, let me know what you think.

My point is that it is unfair. It is unfair that we students get to be graded, and judged. Why can’t we just be graded? I see the point of endorsements and whatnot, but I don’t get why you teachers have to laugh at our mistakes. May I just point out that you are also learning from us the way we are learning from you? I also hope that you see the point wherein the faculty is outnumbered by the students such that if you bad-mouth us there will always be the possibility that we have already done such disrespect to you. If you demand that we commit less to nil mistakes, then we have nothing for you but attempts of doing so. But we also demand one thing: RESPECT. That way we can really see the nurse in you.

I do not know how many times I have been the center of those text messages, I am just sure that I was there. It doesn’t matter now because we have just lost role models. One day, I might not be the better nurse, but I will certainly be the person with better manners.

Leave a Reply

